Mixed Marijuana Legal Statuses Can Lead to Criminal Charges in Parts of Florida
The State of Florida has several jurisdictions that have passed resolutions or laws that decriminalize the possession of marijuana or other cannabis products.
Several Florida cities and counties have passed ordinances that give their local police officers the discretion to present citations to those who may have been arrested for possession of under 20 grams of marijuana under previous laws, including Orlando, Sarasota, Tampa, Key West, and all of Miami-Dade County.
This decriminalization does not apply in Stuart, Florida, which means even recreational use throughout Martin County still carries some of the harshest recreational marijuana penalties in the country.
If you have been arrested and/or charged with possession, selling, or delivering marijuana, contact our drug crimes attorney in Stuart today to ensure your rights are protected, and that you are pursuing the best outcome available for your unique legal circumstances.
Table of Contents
What are the Penalties for Marijuana Charges in Florida?
Our criminal defense lawyer in Martin County follows our ever-evolving Florida marijuana laws closely, so we can provide each of our clients with the best representation possible for their charges.
Each drug crimes case in Florida is unique, as the penalties for recreational use, possession, sales, or delivery of marijuana are assessed based on the weight of the marijuana, where it was found, and the criminal history of the person being charged.
Penalties for the possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana in counties where it has not been decriminalized may include:
- One-year imprisonment
- Fines of up to $1,000
Other more severe marijuana penalties include the charges qualifying as felonies, and may include:
- The sale of 25 pounds or less of marijuana:
- Punishable by a maximum sentence of five years imprisonment
- Maximum fine of $5,000
- The sale or delivery of marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school, college, park, or other specified area:
- Punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 years imprisonment
- Maximum fine of $10,000
Many Florida marijuana laws for both possession and sale are mandatory, including:
- Possession of between 25 and 2,000 pounds of marijuana: A mandatory three-year minimum sentence for jail time
- Possession of 2,000 to 10,000 pounds of marijuana: A mandatory seven-year minimum sentence for jail time
Also, if you are convicted of a marijuana-related offense, the State of Florida can suspend your driver’s license for one year, which can disrupt both your personal and professional life, as you will not be able to drive to work, school, or anywhere else while your privileges are revoked.
How Can the Law Office of Denise Miller Help Fight Marijuana Drug Charges in Florida?
As marijuana laws continue to evolve, varying jurisdictions will handle their marijuana cases differently, which can lead to you being subjected to an arrest and subsequent criminal charges that can change your life.
Partnering with an experienced Stuart drug crimes attorney, like ours at the Law Office of Denise Miller, we can counter your charges with the local District Attorney’s office in the jurisdiction you were arrested or charged with a marijuana crime to pursue the best outcome for your unique circumstances.
For some, that could mean having their charges dismissed or decreased to a lesser charge when the former is not possible. When neither of those is an option, we will aggressively defend your case inside the courtroom, so you can focus on pursuing a successful outcome. To learn more about your legal options after a marijuana arrest or charge, contact our criminal defense attorney in Stuart, Florida today by calling (772) 934-6007 to discuss your case today, so you can focus on solutions.